The Web Series World Cup takes your privacy seriously and supports your right to be forgotten. Though we do not sell data to third parties, there are instances in which we share data with partner festivals in support of your work. This privacy policy describes the information we collect, the circumstances under which we collect it, how you may exercise your right to be forgotten, and what that means in practice.

Unauthenticated Visitors

Personally identifying information we capture:

  • IP address used to access the site

If you simply visit this web site, we send usage information to Google Analytics to help us better understand how the site is being used. While we are not trying to collect any personally identifying information, this usage information does contain IP addresses and, of course, is being stored with Google.

We do not track any other information about unauthenticated users unless an unauthenticated user attempts to access a resource they should not. In that situation, we log the IP address and information about the illegal access attempt.

Unregistered Filmmakers

Personally identifying information we capture:

  • Email address
  • Given (first) name
  • Family (last) name
  • Gender
  • Street address
  • Phone number
  • Information about submitted projects to member festivals
  • Other information provided to the festival during the submission process

If you are a filmmaker who has submitted to a member festival, we may have information about you even though you have never visited this site before. When we receive that information for the first time, we will notify you at the email address provided. This notification enables you to register and either modify that information or exercise your right to be forgotten.

We cannot and thus do not associate any of this information with any web site activity until after you actively register with us.

Authenticated Visitors

Personally identifying information we capture:

  • Email address
  • Given (first) name
  • Family (last) name
  • Gender
  • Street address
  • Phone number
  • Profile information you submit

To be an authenticated visitor, you must actively register and then login with your registered email address and password. You have full control over this information even when festivals send us updated information about you post-registration. In other words, we ignore newly synchronized data from festivals about you once you are registered.

As an authenticated user, we will also have Google Analytics tracking that can associate your online activity directly with your profile. Furthermore, all secure actions you take on the site are logged into our audit logs so that we can track down any potential security breaches.

Retention Policy

We retain all information except security audit logs for the lifetime of the site unless you exercise your right to be forgotten.

Right to Be Forgotten

On your profile page, click "Forget Me" to exercise your right to be forgotten.

When we forget you, we zero our your profile and mark your email address as forgotten. Forgetting you means we delete all of the personally identifying information described above EXCEPT:

  • Your email address
  • IP addresses in Google Analytics and the activity associated with them
  • Information about your projects
  • Security audit log data

Why do we retain the above information?

If we forgot your email, we would receive personally identifying information ahout you from a member festival and thus forget that we forgot you. By storing your email address with the fact that you are forgotten, we know to not reload your personal information from member festivals. Your email is not in Google Analytics, so there is no further association with web activity.

The thing with Google Analytics IP addresses just means you revert to being essentially an unregistered visitor.

Information to your projects is considered essential information for the operation of the web site since, without information about your project, it cannot be ranked.

We retain security log information for 12 months. After that time, we delete it. But that means security log information may still exist about you for up to 12 months after you exercise your right to be forgotten. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES do we share security log information with any third parties unless a) compelled to do so by a proper government authority or b) that third party is assisting us in investigating a security incident.

Data Sharing

As already noted, we do not sell information to third parties. Nevertheless, there are circumstances under which we submit information to third parties because they are providing services to us that require your data. We try to enumerate the information and the third parties here, but it may not be complete.

Google Analytics
Google Analytics is the software we use to analyze web traffic. Any time someone visits a page, your browser will submit information about your page visit to Google Analytics. This is common among most sites on the Internet.
Mailing List Software
We may push your information to our mailing list software (Mailchimp) as well as the mailing list software for member festivals to which your projects have been submitted. We will push this information only to valid email marketing management solutions that provide you with the ability to unsubscribe and remain unsubscribed. You can prevent us from sharing this information with mailing lists either by unchecking the mailing list preference in your profile OR be exercising your right to be forgotten.
Member Festivals
Unless you have exercised your right to be forgotten, we will share your information back to member festivals to whom you have submitted your project. We will not share with member festivals to which you have not submitted.
`
'